Minimum standards for visitation schedules in Utah
When a child's parents are unable to create a parenting plan that each party accepts, the state of Utah has guidelines in place that lay out minimum visitation schedules, according to the Utah Courts. The amount of parenting time an individual can spend with his or her child will depend on a number of factors, including the child's age. In Salt Lake City, and throughout the state, courts also consider the best interests of the child and visitation schedules that are suitable for both parents and their children.
On the Utah State Legislature's site, helpful information regarding ther minimum standards for visitation schedules is provided. For example, non-custodial parents with a child between the ages of five and 18 can outline one evening each week to spend a few hours with their child. If no particular day is set, it is Wednesday. Parents will switch the ability to spend time with their child each weekend and custodial parents are granted two weeks of continual time with the child when school is out (if they wish to take a trip). Mothers can spend time with the child on Mother's Day, while fathers have access to children on Father's Day.
It is important to understand that for children under five years old, the standards are different. Furthermore, there are separate guidelines for children who are less than five months old than for those between the ages of three and five, or 12 months and 18 months. For custodial parents and non-custodial parents alike, familiarity with these guidelines and focusing on a healthy outcome for the child is essential.