Do I have to attend a divorce education class?

If you and your spouse have minor children and are preparing to divorce in Utah, you must attend a divorce education class, according to the Utah Courts. If you do not have children, the education requirements do not apply. Furthermore, you may be able to have a judge to waive this requirement if education is inappropriate or not in either of your best interests. If you are required to complete a divorce education class in Salt Lake City, or anywhere else in the state, you need to take a class that is approved.

Couples with minor children must complete a divorce orientation course as well as a divorce education class. Classes are offered at courthouses and the education requirements can also be fulfilled by viewing a DVD if you are facing hardships that affect your ability to visit a courthouse. Furthermore, you can also complete the mandatory divorce orientation course by taking a course online. However, the divorce education class is not available online.

Divorce orientation classes (taken in a courthouse or online) cost $30 for each individual. By completing a course in a courthouse no more than 30 days after filing a divorce petition, the fee is reduced to $15, while the fee for an online divorce orientation course cannot be reduced. Divorce education classes cost $35 and some people are able to have this fee waived.

During the orientation course you will be educated on divorce and informed of alternative options, while the education class is designed to help you understand how divorce affects children and review financial considerations regarding divorce. Please remember, this material is not to be taken as legal advice.

Categories:

Turn to Just Law, Where Family Matters most.

    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
      Please enter your phone number.
    • This isn't a valid email address.
      Please enter your email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
Contact Us Today